In ONLYOFFICE editors, you have the freedom to choose how you want to collaborate on docs — quickly and openly using Fast co-editing mode or more privately, locking the paragraphs you are editing, with Strict mode.
In this post, we’ll explain how these modes work and how to understand which one suits you more.
Fast mode means that you see all the changes in real-time as your co-author is typing. This mode is enabled by default.
Perks of Fast mode:
It’s important to know:
Strict mode is more private. You lock the document abstract you are working on, and no one can see what you are typing until you hit save.
Also, you can see what parts of the document your co-authors are editing and what objects are locked by them, but you can not see what they are doing exactly until saving is performed.
There are two ways:
If you have Strict mode on while your teammate has Fast, they won’t see your changes and you won’t see theirs.
If you are in the Fast mode, while your co-author works in the Strict one, you do your work but you will be able to see their changes only after they save the doc.
Also, if autosaving is enabled for your document editor, it will be performed every ten minutes. After it, the changes will become visible. You turn the autosaving on and off in the Advanced settings located in the File tab.
Watch our explanation of co-editing modes on YouTube:
Collaboration features overview. Watch video
Learn more about reviewing docs in ONLYOFFICE. Watch video
How to create fillable forms. Watch video
How to compare documents in ONLYOFFICE. Watch video